SHARING IS CARING: StoryCorps

I stumbled across this earlier today and wanted to share it with you. The story, it goeth thusly:

We live in a society of increasing unreality; we text, email, Facebook message. Take photos of our food to share on Instagram.

I made this myself. With ingredients I foraged from the wilderness. And my farm. I put a filter on it to make it look more delicious.

I made this myself. With ingredients I foraged from the wilderness. And my farm. I put a filter on it to make it look more delicious.

There’s not a lot that’s concrete in life anymore–certainly not for my generation–and sometimes, I feel like we get so saturated with what the internet and the media tell us the world is like, that we need something to remind us of what it actually is. I usually reaffirm my faith in humanity by taking a walk outside.

Pictured: Proof that all people are inherently good.

Pictured: Proof that all people are inherently good.

But today, I was scrolling through the pages of carefully-constructed social interactions known as Facebook when I came across something equally life-affirming.

Behold: StoryCorps

…I know. I just said the internet is a perpetuator of unreality, and here I go recommending a site on the internet as a beacon of reality.

But is it really ironic, Alanis? Is that the term we're searching for here?

But is it really ironic, Alanis? Is that the term we’re searching for here?

StoryCorps interviews real people and animates to their interviews. My favorite is “Danny and Annie”, which I linked to above. It’s sweet and sad… and, also, a bit surprising. I didn’t know people still talked like that, or acted like that. It’s all-around lovely. And, it reminds me of how sincere some people really are.

So, visit the site! And comment below: What do you think of Annie and Danny? Do you have a favorite video on StoryCorps? What’s your favorite way to unplug?

And that’s the story, morning glory. Stay… life-affirm…ed.

~ becca

Leave a Reply

